After completing three years of service in Bahrain, the ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Kingdom of Bahrain Dr A Saj U Mendis bid farewell. He is succeeded by senior career Foreign Service Officer Pradeepa Saram. The newly appointed Ambassador-designate of Sri Lanka to the Kingdom of Bahrain, Pradeepa Saram assumed duties at the Embassy of Sri Lanka yesterday.

In an open letter to the Sri Lanka Club President, Ambassador Mendis stated, “I will be succeeded by yet another senior career Foreign Service Officer, Ms Pradeepa Saram, a very close friend of mine and I could only describe her as a highly competent, considerate, noble and committed to the needs of the people of Sri Lanka and the national objectives of the country”.

Ambassador-designate Pradeepa Saram is a member of the Sri Lanka Foreign Service batch of 1998 and was the former Director-General, Overseas Assets Management & Development of the Foreign Ministry. Her appointments in Colombo include Director-General/ Overseas Administration Division, Actg. Director-General/ Middle East Division and Actg. Director-General/ Consular Affairs of the Ministry.

She has also served on the Board of Directors of the Sri Lanka Bureau of Foreign Employment, the Foreign Ministry Representative to the Dual Citizenship Committee and as a Permanent Member of the Project Advisory Committee of National Labour Migration Policy of Sri Lanka.

Ambassador-designate Saram was the first Sri Lankan Consul General in Milan from 2015 to 2018 and has served in Sri Lanka Missions in the United Arab Emirates, Germany and the United Kingdom. Ambassador-designate Saram holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Colombo. She is a past pupil of Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo.

Scores of people from the Srilankan community had attended a felicitation ceremony to bid farewell to His Excellency Dr A Saj U Mendis, Honourable Ambassador for Sri Lanka to the Kingdom of Bahrain. The grand function was held at the Bahrain Society of Engineers hall in Juffair by the executive committee and members of the Sri Lanka Club.