His Royal Highness Prince Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa, Crown Prince, Deputy Supreme Commander and First Deputy Prime Minister, yesterday issued Edict 11 of 2020, amending the classification of controlled narcotic or psychotropic substance schedules annexed to Law 15 of 2007 regarding Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances.

The edict adds new substances to the second group (psychotropic substances) of Table II, and to the third group (precursors) of Table I, annexed to Law 15 of 2017 regarding Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances, as follows:

The second group (psychotropic substances):

  • Ethylone
  • Ethylphenidate
  • Methiopropamine (MPA)
  • Methyleth Cathinone (4-MEC)
  • Pentedrone
  • XLR-11

The third group (precursors):

  • Anilino-N-Phenethylpiperidin 4 (ANPP)
  • N- Penethyl-4-Pipenidone (NPP)


The Ministers, each in their respective capacities, shall implement the provisions of the edict, which takes immediate effect upon publication in the Official Gazette.